butterface

nobody likes a butterface…unless it’s a pumpkin butterface! i was starvin marvin about an hour ago and decided to take a little looksy in my fridge. allllll the way to the back, i noticed that i had an open (and almost full) can of pumpkin puree! hmm what to do? i vaguely remembered my papa mentioning apple butter a while back and it hit me – pumpkin butter, it is! after a little perusing online, i found the perfect healthy & uber simple recipe from danica’s daily.

pumpkin buttahh (borrowed from danica)

ingredients:

1 15-oz can pumpkin puree

1/2 cup agave syrup or honey (i used honey)

1 Tbsp pure maple syrup (i used sugar free pancake syrup)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp cinnamon

3/4  tsp pumpkin pie spice

Pinch of salt

directions:

step 1: combine the pumpkin, honey, maple syrup and vanilla extract in a small saucepan over medium heat, mixing until well combined. stirring constantly, cook for ~ 15 minutes (or until thickened).

step 2: stir in the spices and salt, and cook for an additional 5 minutes.

step 3: remove the pan from heat, and transfer your pumpkin butter to a small bowl or jar. Let cool completely before covering and refrigerating. pumpkin butter will keep for about 2 weeks in a covered air tight container in the refrigerator.

andddd, done! it was SO easy and oh so delicious (i took a spoonful amid *cooling*- i couldn’t resist!). i can just imagine the possibilities…pumpkin butter with waffles, protein pancakes, biscuits, greek yogurt, oh my. ahh so excited! can’t wait for ya’ll to try it.

xo,

p.s. any other fun pumpkin butttah ideas?!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “butterface

  1. OMG I love that you made pumpkin butter! I adore that stuff!
    I actually buy the jar from trader joes and make a sauce to pour on ravioli.. mmmm ravioli with pumpkin sauce! yummms!

  2. Thank you so much for the sweet comment on my blog! I am absolutely loving yours! I love me some pumpkin butter, but have never made my own. maybe I will have to give this recipe a try!

    Have a fabulous day, and glad you found my blog!

    xo

  3. Yeah! So glad the recipe turned out for you. It’s pretty delicious and I LOVE that you can make it any time of year. You don’t have to wait until it’s “in season” 🙂

Leave a comment